Month: January 2010

  • City or Country?

    Country Mouse or City Mouse? – A Featured_Grownups writing prompt.

    So the question is, which am I?

    I grew up in a small town in a little subdivision plopped down in the middle of acres and acres of farmland.  (In fact, our neighborhood was called “The Goodrich Farm subdivision”.  I didn’t see a railroad crossing gate until I was 14. We played baseball in the field behind our house, we skated on the pond down the street during the winter.  We hiked through the woods and fields to visit friends who lived up to two miles away.  I rode a ten-speed bike to work (3 miles away) on the weekends when I was in high school.

    Fast Forward to now.

    I live in a suburb of a large city.  I’m only 30 minutes away by train.  I have two large malls within 3 miles.  There are three theaters (live theater) within 5 miles.  There are restaurants and convention centers within 1 mile.  But my little neighborhood is quiet. 

    I like living in the suburbs of the city.  I’m far enough away from the hustle and bustle for it not to disturb my leisure time, but close enough that I can work in the city (taking public transportation into the city) or do shopping or touristy stuff when I have visitors.

    City or Country?
    I guess I’m a little bit of both.  What I can’t do is have a house in the middle of nowhere.  I like the close proximity to everything where I live. 

    I guess I’m on the fence