Month: November 2009

  • Bah, humbug

    Every year right after Halloween I start getting excited about the upcoming holidays.  I’m usually done with my Christmas shopping by now.  (Well, not really done, because even when I’m done I continue to shop.) 

    I just can’t seem to get in the groove this year.  I even filled my iPod with nothing but Christmas music (550 songs – and that was only a fraction of our Christmas library).

    I’ve purchased a few gifts.  But they are sitting, unwrapped, on the bed in the guest bedroom.  I haven’t got a clue what to get for Mac because, like me, he is in the habit of buying what he wants when he wants it.  Neither of us need clothes.  I don’t need <gasp!> shoes or purses.  I am supposed to make a list for my mother-in-law.  I have two things on my list.  Trouser socks and a blanket like the one we used at her house over Thanksgiving.  She usually buys me some pretty neat sweaters, but now I’m too embarrassed about all my weight gain to tell her she needs to buy size 2X or 18W in the plus sizes.

    I’m not even sure what I’m going to be doing this year during the holidays.  I want to visit my family, and I know Mac will want to visit his.  I’m going to take the week between Christmas and New Year’s off.  We were given Dec. 24th as our floating holiday this year so I’ll have an 11-day stretch to visit people.

    Maybe it’s because I work in the Financial District of Chicago instead of the Shopping District.  I have to walk 6 or 7 blocks to get to the nearest store, and about 10-12 blocks to get to a department store.  When I worked in the Shopping District, I only had to cross the street to get to a mall that had all the major stores.  And I was seconds from the Magnificent Mile.  Now, well, there’s not much you can buy at the Chicago Board of Trade except lunch in the Ceres cafe.

    I think I just need a good dose of shopping to get me into the spirit


    (The best shopping center in Chicago! Right at the start of the Magnificent Mile)

  • Just checking in

    Nothing really to blog about.  Getting over a nasty cold.  Still hate my job.  Still looking for a new job. Getting ready to decorate the house for Christmas (Mac put the lights on the house over the weekend.)

    There ya have it.  My life in a nutshell.